One Star

Trigger job by web-service ping, and schedule job on Windows 2003

Good Evening!
I am new to TalenD but am totally loving the concept and the interface. I am a sql guy and love being able to 'touch' the data.
I now have a need to synchronize my local sql server 2005 database with a web application database (Business Catalyst). The web application data is not 'touchable' but I do have access to it via two web-services; Lets just call them Ping and GetRecords for now.
What I need to do is build a job in TalenD that I can export into a .bat file (I'm guessing) that can be both scheduled via windows scheduler, and ALSO respond to a 'Ping' coming from the web service.
The scheduling part I think I got figured out almost, so I can run a 'DailySalesReport' at 12:05 am every day to get all the sales for the previous day.
The part I don't get is how do I set up a workflow to keep the two databases in sync?
Lets say for example, that the web database sells 3 widgets. I want my local database to reflect that asap!
So when the web DB sells 3, it 'pings' my local sql server.
My local sql server then queries the web service 'GetRecords' and asks 'how many widgets just sold?"
It returns three, and updates the database, by reducing the inventory by three.
So my big question is this: How do I export a job (in Java) to sit on a sql server, to listen to a web service for a ping, and reply with a select statement to a different web service?
Anty leads to a tutorial/cook book approach would be wonderful!
Thank you all in advance for any help.
Dan
4 REPLIES
Community Manager

Re: Trigger job by web-service ping, and schedule job on Windows 2003

Hello
So my big question is this: How do I export a job (in Java) to sit on a sql server, to listen to a web service for a ping, and reply with a select statement to a different web service?