One Star

New User - Oracle Connection Failure

Hi -
I am new to TOS and am hoping someone can point out what I have missed in the documentation and forums.
I have been unable to create a database connection in TOS v3.0.2 to any of our Oracle databases (both v8.1.7 and v10.0.2). I can connect and explore schemas from TOP and standard Oracle tools but TOS consistently fails with "Io exception: Socket is not connected". I have reinstalled TOS but the problem persists.
I have used both the FQDN and IP address for the host along with double quotes around the text values.
The typical entry in the error log is:
!ENTRY org.talend.libraries 4 0 2008-12-23 09:24:03.359
!MESSAGE 2008-12-23 09:24:03,359 ERROR org.talend.commons.exception.ExceptionHandler - Io exception: Socket is not connected
!STACK 0
java.sql.SQLException: Io exception: Socket is not connected
at oracle.jdbc.driver.DatabaseError.throwSqlException(DatabaseError.java:125)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.DatabaseError.throwSqlException(DatabaseError.java:162)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.DatabaseError.throwSqlException(DatabaseError.java:274)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CConnection.logon(T4CConnection.java:319)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.PhysicalConnection.(PhysicalConnection.java:344)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CConnection.(T4CConnection.java:148)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.T4CDriverExtension.getConnection(T4CDriverExtension.java:32)
at oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver.connect(OracleDriver.java:545)
at org.talend.core.model.metadata.builder.database.ExtractMetaDataUtils.connect(Unknown Source)
at org.talend.core.model.metadata.builder.database.ExtractMetaDataFromDataBase.testConnection(Unknown Source)
I would appreciate any help that can be offered.
Thanks!

• Talend Studio
28 REPLIES
Employee

Re: New User - Oracle Connection Failure

Hi,
You have to remove the double quotes character in the Wizard.
For Login, Password, Server, Database, etc...