Lowering License Levels of Talend Products

Overview

This document explains the differences between Talend license levels, and describes important steps that must be completed before lowering your license level with Talend products. Talend offers three different license levels: listed from advanced to basic, they are Master Data Management, Data Quality, and Data Integration/ESB. Talend projects, Jobs, and components are not compatible across each of the licenses available, so if you lower a license without first performing the proper steps, the potential for critical problems is high. This document will help you successfully lower your license level with Talend products.

 

Understanding the three licenses and how they are layered

 

Master Data Management Data Quality Data Integration/ESB
  • MDM is the most advanced license available
  • All components from Data Quality and Data Integration/ESB are included
  • MDM can switch between projects and jobs from Data Quality and Data Integration/ESB
  • MDM can be lowered to Data Quality and Data Integration/ESB license
  • DQ is the intermediate license available
  • DQ can use components from Data Integration/ESB
  • DQ can switch between projects and jobs from Data Integration/ESB
  • DQ cannot use MDM projects or jobs
  • DQ cannot use components from MDM
  • DQ can be lowered to Data Integration/ESB
  • DI is the basic license available
  • DI cannot use components from Master Data Management or Data Quality
  • DI cannot switch between projects or jobs from Master Data Management or Data Quality
  • The only option below a DI license is Talend Open Studio

 

Licenses

The license used in Talend Administration Center enables an administrator to create and administer projects and users of different types. You can see what licenses you have available in Talend Administration Center by navigating to the Menu tree > Settings > Licenses.

 

pic1.png

 

The table below describes what you can do in your product according to your user type and license:

 

pic2.png

 

Important:

Talend Data Stewardship and Data Preparation are not bundled into the main license structure and are add-on units.

Talend Data Mapper is only included if you have a platform license.

 

Preparation & Migration

The example used here will be downgrading from Master Data Management to Data Quality. If you are downgrading from Master Data Management or Data Quality to Data Integration/ESB, the concept will be the same.

 

Projects

You must create new projects inside of TAC with the project type of Data Quality, or to the level of the license you are downgrading to. To complete this part, you must log into TAC and locate Projects under the Menu tree. Since you are not able to change the project type on an existing project, you may duplicate a project, then select the correct project type. If you are connecting to SVN or GIT, verify that the settings and URL are correct under the Advanced Settings after duplicating the project.

 

pic3.png

 

Authorization

After the new project with the correct license level is created, you will not be able to see the project available in Studio until you provide the users with permissions. Inside of TAC, you will need to locate Project Authorizations under the Menu tree. Here you must choose the new project and provide the users with the desired permissions on the right side. In the Rights column, you can choose to give either Read Only or Read/Write by choosing the icon with the person and pencil. If you have any groups, you will need to choose the tab at the top center Authorization by User/Group to make sure the groups also have the proper permissions.

 

pic4.png

 

Users

Log into TAC, navigate to the Menu tree, and locate Users. You must lower the users from MDM to DQ (or the desired license level) on the right-side panel of each user that is selected. If applicable, you should verify that their SVN or GIT user is correct.

During this process, you should keep one user at your current license level until the end of the downgrading project, preferably the admin user.

If you are unable to change the user type, you may not have the proper permissions or the user may still be logged in.

To verify if the user is logged in, check the Users page of Talend Administration Center. You can see which users are logged into the Talend Studio, Talend Data Preparation, and Talend Administration Center. Log them out if needed.

 

pic5.png

 

Note: Data Preparation and Talend Data Stewardship will not be covered in depth, but if the user is a Data Preparation or TDS user be sure to check the Data Preparation User box and select their desired roles.

 

Migration

To begin this portion, log in as the user at your current license level, as discussed in the Users section.

When you start up your Studio, be sure to choose the existing projects that have your current license level. If you are doing remote, you can verify the user that you are logging in with, so you know you are entering the correct projects and have proper permissions.

 

pic6.png

 

Once you have logged in to your current project, you will need to begin exporting your Jobs into a specified location.

To export a Job:

  1. Right-click the Job, and select Export Job.
  2. To the right of Select archive file, click Browse to choose the destination and name for the Job ZIP archive.
  3. Select the Job Version.
  4. Check the box to Export Dependencies.
  5. Set Export type to Anonymous Job.
  6. Check all Options.
  7. Click Finish.

pic7.png

 

You will then want to log into the new project, which should be empty and have the license level you will be downgrading to. Once you have logged in to that project, you will need to import the jobs you previously exported.

 

To import a Job:

  1. Right-click Job Designs in the Repository, then select the Import items option.
  2. In the next window, browse to a root directory or an archive file path where your exported items are stored. A list of items appears in the table.
  3. Select the items you want to import. Choose the Overwrite existing itemsoption if the items already exist in your repository and you want to overwrite them.
  4. Click Finish.
  5. If the newly-imported items do not appear, click Refresh to refresh the Repository.

 

Components

Once you have imported your Jobs, you will want to test them in the new project and verify that the components work and are not a part of the higher-level license that you plan to downgrade from. To confirm that your components function properly, review the components reference guide.

If you have any schedules, it would be a best practice to verify the Jobs run on the schedulers and any other unique designs you may have implemented.

 

Once you have verified that your Jobs run successfully on the new license platform, request the downgraded license from your Customer Success Manager.

Version history
Revision #:
8 of 8
Last update:
‎11-09-2017 04:39 AM
Updated by:
 
Comments
eTechman

TDM is only included in the platform license types.