One Star

webservice output to an xml file

Hi,
I'm still fairly new to the use of Talend so apologies if this is a simple question but i'm still finding my way through all the components available in the studio.
I have a scenario where I need to
1) Retrieve ID's for users from a table in my database
2) Iterate through each ID and make a call to a webservice
3) Call the webservice method with the ID, and retrieve results
4) Output results for each ID into an XML file or some kind of output which can be manipulated further.
I have achieved the first 3 parts of this, the webservice retrieves the results for each ID, but at the moment all i can do with these is output them through the logrow component. I have attempted to output to an XML file, but this does not seem to let you append the xml file with the latest results, it just overwrites the contents, which as a result once the job is completed, leaves an xml file with just the last result of the iteration.
Does anyone have any suggestions, I have attached a screenshot of how the job currently runs.
Many thanks
Richard
8 REPLIES
One Star

Re: webservice output to an xml file

It's always the same problem when using an "iterate" link.
You have to create the file at the beginnint of the job :
tPrejob --onComponentOk--> tGenerateRow --Output--> tFileOutputXML
Then on the other component tFileOutputXML, check the "append" box.
This is the way I use, because it works exactly as if there was no "iterate" link in the process. Checking the "append" box on the existing component could be enough, but creating the file at the beginning of the job overwrites the file of the last execution, which is easier when developping.
One Star

@nkxxDV: that's what I thought but I can't find the "append" check box in the tFileOutputXML component. Is there another way to do that?
Community Manager

@brunogirin