Five Stars

type mismatch cannot convert from string to bigdecimal

Hello,

Before I explain my issue, please note that I'm a beginner in Talend. 

The aim of my job is to use a tMsgbox component to retrieve some info from the user in order to be able to filter my extract from my Oracle database. Indeed:

step 1 : tMsgbox (for example the user has to enter this kind of thing: 2017,1,CC)

step 2 : I retrieve this string Smiley Sad(String)globalMap.get("tMsgBox_1_RESULT")) and I split my string with a home made function in order to have 3 variables: var1 = 2017, var2 =1 and var3 = CC

step 3: I use the tConvertType component in order to change from string to BigDecimal the type of var1 and var2 (var3 is already a string and it's fine) and I put a tmap linked to the tConvertType component

step 4: I use the tUnite component in order to merge the tmap from step 3) and another tmap which is a  extract from my Oracle database without any filter, it is just the same structure as my oracle database

step 5: from the TUnite component, I add a additionnal tmap in order to be able to filter with the var1, var2 and var3 created in the step 1-2-3.

The problem is localised in the tUnite component, its seems that I have a problem with the type of variables, or I checked everywhere and in all tmap, in my tUnit ... the types of var1 andbar2 = BigDecimal

This is the schema: 

This is the error message= type mismatch cannot convert from string to bigdecimal

Please if someone has an idea....

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Nine Stars

Re: type mismatch cannot convert from string to bigdecimal

you should match the no. of columns ,data types and order of columns in before tunite of two intput flows in tmaps(i.e.,tmap_1 and tmap_2)

Manohar B
14 REPLIES
Five Stars

go to tunite component ->click on edit schema option->ensure i/p and o/p data type should be same ..so select appropriate data type.->then click ok->then click on sync..then run the job .