tUnite work within the Talend job

One Star

tUnite work within the Talend job

Hi,
As the result of another post (see below) I have been told that the tUnite component cannot unite data if it has been split inside the same job. The recommendation to me was to write the split files out to real files on disk and then bring them back inside my Talend job using the tUnite component. This seems a bit long winded.
I'd like the tUnite component to be able to re-combine data from multiple streams even if those streams come from a single stream in the same Talend job.
Below is my original post which led to the above comment and describes what I'm trying to achieve.
************************** start of original post *****************************************
Hi folks,
I'm fairly new to TOS and am putting together my first 'real' job. I know what I'm trying to achieve but I'm not sure if I'm going about it the right way.
I have an input file which contains multiple record types. Different record type have different numbers of columns.
What I'm trying to do is to write out a single file with the columns of each record type moved such that each column in the output file has a single data type.
For example:
- input file may contain the following 3 records
RT1,20100101,fred
RT2,12345,david
RT3,abc,1234
My output file needs to be in the following format:
- column#1 should be string (is my record type)
- column#2 should be a date
- column#3 should be a string
- column#4 should be numeric.
Using my sample data from above my output file will be as follows:
RT1,20100101,fred
RT2,,david,12345
RT3,,abc,1234
I am using tMap to split the input file based on the record type (RT1, RT2 etc) and for testing have written those to tLogRow so I know I'm doing the correct processing.