One Star

tUnite usage

Hello All,
I have been developing in Ab Initio for about 7 years and I am now evaluating Talend. One problem I am having is that I want to use Talend to generate a set of test files (account, customer, acct_x_cust, transactions) that have referential integrity. I will be using these files for subsequent testing.
The problem d'hour is that I have generated my account records and am trying to generate my acct_x_cust (cross reference) data, in which I use the generated acct_id's and generate new cust_id's. Each acct_x_cust record has a role code, and each account can have multiple customers tied to it. To create the acct_x_cust, I have used a tMap with three outputs (one for each customer role code). The trouble now is merging these three outputs into a single acct_x_cust file. tUnite does not want to do it. I remember reading that two outputs from tMap cannot go to the same component). I have tried to throw sorts on each flow between the tMap and the tUnite, but it's not taking it.
What are my other options here? How can I merge three flows with the same metadata into a common output?
I am willing to concede that using a different tool, perhaps I need to shift my mindset, so if anyone has a suggestion as to another method of accomplishing the same goal, I am all ears. The important thing is creating a dataset *with* referential integrity.
Thanks!
Shane
7 REPLIES
Employee

Re: tUnite usage

Hello,
You're right, currently, Talend do not allow any cycle.
In most of the case, you will probably not need to have 3 different output from the same tMap with the same schema.
Can you post a screen shot of your tMap for a precise answer ?
Regards,
One Star

That is what I was afraid of... I have attached a screen cap of my tMap. I want to create 'secondary' customers from some accounts and 'triciary' customers for some accounts, but they all share the same account number. Hopefully that makes sense. Perhaps I need to approach it from another angle.
Thanks,