Seven Stars

tREST and/or tRESTclient - how to loop to retrieve data?

Hello everyone

I would like a sanity check as I am very new to Talend DI.

I am using version 6.4.1 of Talend DI, the 'free' edition.

I need to retrieve a large amount of data (via tREST JSON or XML) from Elastic Search, about 1 GB of JSON per hour.

I am planning to use tRESTclient and tREST in Open DI.

If I were to write a standalone Java program (just for sake of example) then I would first post a request to Elastic Search to obtain a scroll_id which is conceptually like a database SQL Open Cursor statement. In this initial scroll set-up request I would establish the max payload size to be returned (for example 500 'rows').

Next I would use the returned scroll_id value in a loop to make repeated calls to Elastic Search to get the next batch of data, returned in a JSON/XML document.

I would need to loop this call until end-of-data condition is reached and inside the loop I would somehow store the retrieved JSON/XML returned payload in a database or a file and repeat.

In Talend I intend to use tRESTclient to set up and return the scroll_id.

Then in a loop I plan to use tREST to pass the scroll_id and return next batch of payload in JSON/XML form.

Also in the same loop I would map the data and store it in a database/file.

Is this going to work?

Is this a good use-case for Talend DI or am I better off just writing a Java program without using Talend ?

Is this going to perform with large amount of data in Talend DI?

I will be retrieving about 1 GB of JSON/XML data every hour via the above tREST loop calls.

If there is a better solution using the free version of Talend DI, please advise.

Many thanks in advance

• Data Integration
Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Seven Stars

Re: tREST and/or tRESTclient - how to loop to retrieve data?

I think I solved it now

in place of a "string" I use the global variable like so ((String) globalMap.get("variable_name"))