Five Stars

tMap lookups a joblet

Hi folks,

I am new to talend. I have got a question regarding the tMap component and joblets. In order to devide (and conquere) our extraction jobs I have created some atomic joblets which deliver me the first source database objects for further transformations. Well, this part works very well!

The main question is now, whether I am able to use this predefined joblets for extraction as lookups within my tMap definition?

Lets make it more clear with a picture:

talend_tmap_meets_joblet.png
A little bit explanation

• The extraction joblets got some technical primary key as input (INPUT_1).
  • With these keys the joblet returns the raw database objects in order to manipulate and transform them to a sort of business objects (next process). 
  • The extraction joblet is responsible to provide the data --> encapsulation
  • The "Input_1" of the joblets are based on a generic schema which provides some attributes (also the technical key) to grep the record you need. I call it "param" (e.g. param.recid, param.key_1, param.key_2, ...)
  • The tOracleInput components apply predefined SQLs from my meta model. For instance:

talend_tmap_meets_joblet.png

• The "param" records references the INPUT_1 generic schema I have already mentioned

The mission:

• How can I configure the tMap (or another mapping component) that way that it uses my extraction joblet instead an independent fetch logic (SQL) as lookup?
  • I should mention: I am a friend of "Don't Repeat Youself" what descripts best my motivation trying to do it that way Smiley Happy.

Additionals:

• Something that might go in the right direction I could find in the talend referance guide.

I appreciate any help

Cheers

Adam L.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Five Stars

Re: tMap lookups a joblet

HI Shong

thanks for your post. I have tried to reconstruct my job as you desribed. I guess that there is another problem which I do not really understand.