tMap conditional formula

Highlighted
Six Stars

tMap conditional formula

I am trying to write a condition in my tMap translation.  It is giving me an error when trying to run.  Essentially, I have a required field I am trying to populate on the Output.  From the input, I first want to check one of the columns for null.  If it is null, I want to use a different column to populate output.  Here is what I have written, not sure what I am missing:

row1.Field1 = null ? row1.Field2 : row1.Field1

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Six Stars

Re: tMap conditional formula

@manishchokkaram @nikhilthampi @akumar2301   Thank you all for your help!

I made a few adjustments and got it to work.  Here is the final expression I used:

row1.NAME != null && row1.NAME.trim().length() != 0 ? row1.NAME : row1.NUM

I really appreciate all of  your input.  I'm new to Talend and this is helpful.  This board is great. I will be now be a longtime user.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Highlighted
Six Stars

Also, I have tried comparing using = and ==.   Either way, I am getting an error when the first field is blank and it is not populating it the 2nd field. 

Highlighted
Eleven Stars

(row1.Field1 == null || row1.Field1.trim().length() == 0 )? row1.Field2 : row1.Field1

Regards
Abhishek KUMAR
Highlighted
Nine Stars

@steeld95  the one which @akumar2301  sent will work, even i used it before, specially when we have empties other then null it will be very helpful

Highlighted
Six Stars

Thank you @akumar2301.  It is now giving me a different error.  It is saying:

Token<END-OF-STATEMENT> was not valid. Valid tokens: ? : <FLOAT> <BIGINT> <DECIMAL>

It is all string fields.  The input fields are stings and the output field is a string.   

I appreciate your help!

Highlighted
Nine Stars

(row1.Field1 == null || StringHandling.LEN(row1.Field1)== 0 )? row1.Field2 : row1.Field1

Highlighted
Eleven Stars