Five Stars

tJDBCInput issue with large dataset

Hi All,

I am quite new to Talend and just started using it. I have to copy data from several sources one of them is Postgres DB with SSL enabled. Initially the ready made DB connection for postgres didn't work for SSL and I came across suggestion to use General JDBC with few changes in JDBC URL, it worked. I am able to connect to Postgres DB and retrieve schema. There is one table with 5 million records, 35 columns. The requirement is to drop table on each refresh and recreate it.

I am getting below mentioned error 

[statistics] connecting to socket on port 3819
[statistics] connected
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at org.postgresql.core.v3.QueryExecutorImpl.processResults(QueryExecutorImpl.java:1969)
at org.postgresql.core.v3.QueryExecutorImpl.execute(QueryExecutorImpl.java:255)
at org.postgresql.jdbc2.AbstractJdbc2Statement.execute(AbstractJdbc2Statement.java:570)

I am using below mentioned setup 

1. Created a DB connection using generic JBBC Connection to connect to Postgres DB
  2. Retrieve schema 
  3. Create a job tJDBCInput -> tOracleOutput

For tJDBCInput below are the setting 

Somewhere it was mentioned that MySQL and Postgres copies entire input data onto local disk before coping to destination and it was advised that  "Enable stream" is the MySQL equivalent of Postgres "Enable Cursor". Hence I used Enable Cusrsor

Capture1.JPG

Run setting for the job.

Capture2.JPG

This runs for a while without coping anything to destination and gives the Java heap space error. I am not sure what else I can do to copy data and make this work, please note that with all these setting if I limit the rows to 3 million everything works.

Few point to help you to help :-)

1. XMS/X 4048 is the max I can allocate, don't have any more memory.
  2. Execution time is not a big concern as long as the job is robust and executes periodically