Four Stars

tHash (outtput, input) and shared connection

Hi,

I'm new in Talend and i'm designing a job running child jobs (with tRunJob).

I'm sharing the connection of the main job with the child jobs.

It works fine exept for one child job where i'm storing records in a tHashOutput and then later reading those records with a tHashInput.

The tHashOutput and the tHashInput are in two different subjobs connected with "OnSubjobOk".

By running the application i get following message:

Exception in component tHashInput_1
java.lang.RuntimeException: The hash is not initialized : The hash must exist before you read from it

If i transmit the whole context to the child-job and connect the database with the context variable (no more shared connection) it runs without error and i don't understand why!

here the screenshots of the application with the error:

Main job:

Main Job.JPGSharing a connection.JPG

Child Job <Test_SubJob>

Child_Job.JPGUsing shared connection.JPG

In the second version, the one without error i transmit the whole context to the child-Job:tRunJob.JPG

and in the child Job i connect with the context variables:

Connecting with context.JPG

It would be great if someone could explain me why it doesn't work with the shared connection.

Thanks in advance,

Dominique

5 REPLIES
Employee

Re: tHash (outtput, input) and shared connection

Are you sure you are specifying the "Use or Register a shared DB Connection" in both connections?  I saw in one of your screenshot on the GKT connection where you do not have that option ticked.

Four Stars

Hi iburtally,

Yes i'm sure, the connection you see without the shared connection is the one using just the context variables. It runs then without error but  I have to connect two times to the database; one time in the main job and one time in the child job. And it should be possible to connect just in the main job. And for all other child job it works, just not for this child job with the tHashOutput and tHashInput.