One Star

[resolved] tSchemaComplianceCheck with validation problem

Hello,
I am quite new to Talend.
I did read how to use validation rule but could not get it to work.
I did try to extract the validation I want to do in a simple example.
There are two rows in my csv containing different BICBANK.
I did a validation rule on the file delimited schema but the validation is always successful?
I try to use this validation on a tSchemaComplianceCheck but not row is rejected.
If I change the if statement in the condition to
input_row.BANKBIC.equalsIgnoreCase("ABSBDE66XXX")
Then it does not change anything all rows are validated.
I probably does something wrong but I cannot figure out what.
Is anyone having a clue?
Thanks,
Francois
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
One Star

Re: [resolved] tSchemaComplianceCheck with validation problem

Francois,
I worked on a project some years ago which is identical to what you're trying to do. In my case, some tables had over 100 fields and we needed to perform checks for specific fields and either warn or fail the row. We tried to a number options and finally very happily settled with using the tJavaRow component. It allowed us to be completely flexible and allowed us to code all the conditions very easily. When I saw your pseudo code, I thought you might want to try this out...
So what I have on the attached screenshots is this:
First screen shot shows you the overall job...
Second screenshot shows you the details of the tJavaRow; You will see that we even got fancy and defined whether a violation was an error or a warning; As you can see from the Java code, we take every input field and we perform checks; then we write the warning or error text into a specific output field. This is where you'd put your pseudo code very easily and cleanly..
The 3rd screenshot shows the bottom of the tJavaRow, where we pass the concatenated errors into an output field.