One Star

[resolved] tFileInputDelimited accepting a variable to dynamically

Is there a way to send the tFileInputDelimited component variable to dynamically fill in the file that I need to process.
1. The file is stored in a directory.
2. The file names are stored in a database table.
3. I can get the name from the db but can figure out if there is a way to send that name to the tFileInputDelimited component.
Best regards.
I am currently a novice user.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Manager

Re: [resolved] tFileInputDelimited accepting a variable to dynamically

Hello guy
Also use a tFileInputDelimited and tFlowToIterate to iterate all the file name, then use a tUnite to merge all look up records.
tFileInputDelimited-->tFlowToIterate--iterate-->tFileInputExcel_2-->tUnite-->tMap
Best regards
shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
9 REPLIES
One Star

It is possible.
You can put this value in the globalMap of your job, and use it after.
If you have several files in your DB, the better way is probably to use a tFlowToIterate (which store the fileName the globalMap for each file).
One Star

Sorry it took so long to reply to this message. bcourtine this worked great!!! I decided to you use the tFlowToIterate component which worked great. The more I work with the various componets I find them easy to use.
Regards.
One Star

It is possible.
You can put this value in the globalMap of your job, and use it after.
If you have several files in your DB, the better way is probably to use a tFlowToIterate (which store the fileName the globalMap for each file).

Hello,
I'm novice user so be patient with me Smiley Happy
I have similar situation and resolve it in the same way.
Here is a picture of part of my job design.
I have a tFileInputDelimited component which holds a part of the name of the tFileInputExcel_3 file.
It is shown on a picture. It works as a charm.