[resolved] Using tFileList and tWaitForFile both to power the same process...

One Star

[resolved] Using tFileList and tWaitForFile both to power the same process...

I am just learning Talend, and am a little confused about how to go about this...
I have 2 directories:
FilesToProcess
ProcessedFiles
When Talend first starts up, I want to use tFileList to kick off... so we process any files that have arrived while the job wasn't running.
Then we switch to tWaitForFile for files that arrive while we are up and running...
I have thought of a few hypothetical ways to do this, but they all seem to have problems...
For example:
Use a 'MasterJob' this MasterJob kicks off childJob_tFileList then kicks of childJob_tWaitForFile both of these in turn call childJob_ProcessFile
The problem with this idea, is that if a new file appears during or after childJob_tFileList but before childJob_tWaitForFile, it will not be processed by anyone... until I restart the job that is.
If I could run both tFileList and tWaitForFile in parallel, that would solve this problem, but I'm not sure how to do that.
Another solution would be to periodically run tFileList as a 'clean-up' routine, and process as needed.
There's a million hypothetical solutions, what I'm most interested in, is what an experienced Talend developer would do.
Points that I'm most interested in (confused about):
1. When in this process are sub-jobs recomended?
2. If I want to feed 2 connections main/iterate into a component that only allows one input, is a subjob a good solution?
3. Is it possible / safe to run to Iterate components at the same time (for example the global fileName variable may be being written/read from at the same time by 2 different threads....
I've searched many pages of documentation, but have found nothing about how Talend handles concurrency, or about accessing variables in a parent job. There is also very little in the way of recommendations as to when to use iterate vs. main links.