[resolved] Using TMap to parse complex string

One Star

[resolved] Using TMap to parse complex string

I am new to TOS and to Java, so I am having a hard time figuring out how to parse out a string in TMap. I have a number of string columns in the input to the Tmap that should have a length of 5 be all numeric (e.g., '10101'). Unfortunately, sprinkled into columns are values like '3100'. The output still needs to have 5 columns, but the second column should have the value of ''. any ideas on how I can test for a non-numeric value and then take 3 characters for the column vs. using only 1 character?
Thanks, John

Accepted Solutions
One Star

Re: [resolved] Using TMap to parse complex string

Andrew,
Thanks for your help, especially the link to the Regex validation tool. I have not used Regex before, so it took a lot of experimenting to get just the expression just right. I am using tExtractRegexFields to parse my string into individual columns using the followng expression:
"(|\\\\]|\"|\\*)(|\\\\]|\"|\\*)(|\\\\]|\"|\\*)(|\\\\]|\"|\\*)(|\\\\]|\"|\\*)(|\\\\]|\"|\\*)"
John

All Replies
One Star

I am new to TOS and to Java, so I am having a hard time figuring out how to parse out a string in TMap...
The output still needs to have 5 columns, but the second column should have the value of ''. any ideas on how I can test for a non-numeric value and then take 3 characters for the column vs. using only 1 character?
Thanks, John

This sounds like a job for a regular expression!
http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/docs/api/java/util/regex/Pattern.html