One Star

[resolved] Substring and IfThenElse

Hi there,
I am still quite new to Talend and trying to build my DS jobs on Talend. I was quite surprised to find that there is nothing in StringHandling for Substring. I wasted 1 hr used many left, right and change in many variables to make substring work. While searching forum I found a suggestion to replicate Substring by using this "rha.ACTES.substring(0, java.lang.Math.min(rha.ACTES.length(),8))"
Not sure what is rha and ACTES but it didnt work for me. Sorry I am not great in Java and yes its Java based project I am working on.
Again for IfThenElse I found "String?value:value" It worked for me. Not sure if there is real IfThenElse in Talend for non Java programmer.
Please advice.
Thanks
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Manager

Re: [resolved] Substring and IfThenElse

Hello
using this "rha.ACTES.substring(0, java.lang.Math.min(rha.ACTES.length(),8))"

You can use the substring(int firstIndex, int lastIndex) method of String class. eg:
"shong".substring(0,3) ==>sho
rha.ACTES.substring(0, java.lang.Math.min(rha.ACTES.length(),8))
rha is the flow name, ACTES is column name.
Again for IfThenElse I found "String?value:value" It worked for me. Not sure if there is real IfThenElse in Talend for non Java programmer.

yes, you are right. the ifthenelse statement is replaced by format: "condition?value1:value2". You can aslo create a routine and use the ifthenelse in java code.
Best regards
shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
11 REPLIES
Community Manager

Hello
using this "rha.ACTES.substring(0, java.lang.Math.min(rha.ACTES.length(),8))"

You can use the substring(int firstIndex, int lastIndex) method of String class. eg:
"shong".substring(0,3) ==>sho
rha.ACTES.substring(0, java.lang.Math.min(rha.ACTES.length(),8))
rha is the flow name, ACTES is column name.