[resolved] Read expression/formula from excel file

One Star

[resolved] Read expression/formula from excel file

Hi folks,
I'm quite new to Talend and would like to read an expression from a given file and then execute it in tMap. The expressions are stored in a separate excel column like this:
row7.value1 + row7.value2 == 0 ? 0 : row7.value1/(row7.value1 + row7.value2)

I accomplished to read it as a string by global map: ((String) globalMap.get("row6.column_that_contains_expr")). But I'm not able to execute the expression in order to get the resulting value. 
My job looks like this:
tFileInputExcel =row6=> tFlowToIerate => tPostgresqlInput =row7=> tMap => tFileOutpuDelimited

Could you please tell me how to execute the expression from file and obtain the resulting double?
Greetings
Simon

Accepted Solutions
One Star

Re: [resolved] Read expression/formula from excel file

All I'm trying to do is to read an (Talend) expression from a flat-file and then execute it in tMap. But like you said it's interpreted as a String... So I guess I've to write my own classes and methods in Talend that would be able to interpret the formula I get from the file - like you suggested. Thanks!

All Replies

Hi,
row7.value1 + row7.value2 == 0 ? 0 : row7.value1/(row7.value1 + row7.value2)

Could you please show us some screenshots of your excel file with expression/ formula cell? Can you read your excel file by a simple work flow: tfileinputexcel-->tLogrow?
Best regards
Sabrina

--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
One Star

Hi Sabrina,
thanks for your reply. This is how the excel file looks like:

The column "ETL_EXPRESSION" contains the expression I want to execute in tMap function. When I use ((String) globalMap.get("row6.ETL_EXPRESSION")) I only get the expression itself but not the calculated (double) value.
Starte Job talend_test am 10:16 27/04/2016.
connecting to socket on port 3398
connected