[resolved] Passing configuration / parameters into Talend Job

One Star

[resolved] Passing configuration / parameters into Talend Job

Hi Team
I'm very new to Talend, but learning fast. 
So far I've been impressed with Talend's capabilities, but I've query regarding how to pass parameters into a Talend job from an external source? In SSIS (the tool I'm most familiar with) for example you could have an XML configuration file with defined variables. This file is loaded at run time, populating the job variables and therefore the job characteristics are changed dynamically by loading different configuration files?
I've searched the forums (probably poorly) and haven't been able to find an equivalent ability within Talend?
We have a requirement to build a reusable job that dynamically drops and re-build Oracle objects (such as indexes and DB links etc). I've placed the necessary database information into control tables, with a reference key (job_id 1 = index  'ABC',  job_id 2 = indexes 'XYZ' and 'QWE' etc).
I need to pass Talend a job_id at run time, so it knows what object data to pull from the database control table and then dynamically rebuild the corresponding DB object? .
We're using the below set-up
Linux uname -r = 2.6.32-279.el6.x86_64
Talend Open Studio version = TOS_DI-20150908_1633-V6.0.1
java -version = java version "1.6.0_35"
Hopefully that makes sense?
Many thanks
Mark
Sixteen Stars

Re: [resolved] Passing configuration / parameters into Talend Job