One Star

[resolved] Incrementing maximum value id plus one every time

I am a beginner to talend and i have the following situation ....
I have to get the maximum id plus one every time that I insert a value in the table, its not a sequence its a check while insert data from one table to another. Which component should i use and how to do it?
can anybody help me..?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
One Star

Re: [resolved] Incrementing maximum value id plus one every time

Wait what, I don't understand what you want to do?
You have a table like this
id¦name
1¦Jcs
2¦Hi
and you want to add "hello" as name
id¦name
3¦hello 
into the table ? 
If the id is auto incrementing, you don't need to get the max id, just add hello into "name", the DB will find the right ID (that's what a auto incrementing id is used for!)
(insert into table (name) values ("hello"))
7 REPLIES
Fifteen Stars

Why do you need to do this as a check? What are you checking? The reason I ask is that this check may cause you problems and may not be efficient. For example, what happens if you carry out the check and another process does something to the table? If you need to do a check before each insert, that is a query and an insert for every insert. That is a lot more expensive than using a sequence, for example. 
If you tell us what the check is for, we may be able to suggest an efficient mechanism for achieving this. At the moment, it sounds like you want to do a query before every insert. If that is the case, why not create a function to query the column for you and call that function in the Advanced tab of the t{database}Output component?
Rilhia Solutions
One Star