One Star

[resolved] How to pass data through a job ?

Hello,
I'm new to Talend and I'm trying to achieve my first job for a network project.
Unfortunately I'm stuck at the moment because of my lack of knowledge of the software and its components.
Explanations
I'm collecting data from a network management console API (Cisco Prime Infrastructure) and I need to proceed with 4 API query to get all the necessary data : device id, ip address, interfaces and their descriptions. When the job has gathered everything together, the data are sorted and a last API query is made to the management console.
But the problem is that I don't know how to "link" each rows to the others through the different API calls. I made a pattern to make it clearer :

By now, I know how to get the data and parse them in order to get what I want from the XML files but I can't find how to get the data to "follow" through the job and be linked together.
For each device id should be linked an ip address, a list of its interfaces, the intefaces' descriptions... But how to proceed ?
Thank you.
Cardiganup.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Manager

Re: [resolved] How to pass data through a job ?

Hi  
If I understand your requirement well, you just need to add a tFlowToIterate between Parse device_no and Get interfaces to iterate each device no. eg:
...Parse device_no--row16--tFlowToIterate--iterate--Get interfaces--main--parse interfaces--main--tMap--tLogRow
change the URL in step 3 to:
3) "Get interfaces" Query : " + (String)globalMap.get("row16.device_no")
//Assuming the data type of device_no is string, if it is integer type in your case, change it to 
"Get interfaces" Query : " + (Integer)globalMap.get("row16.device_no")
on tMap, add a new column called device_no in the output table, and set its expression as:
(String)globalMap.get("row16.device_no")

Best regards
Shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
5 REPLIES