Five Stars

[resolved] How to lookup if a database record exists or not(to get a primary key)

Hi Everyone
I am new to talend and this might be a repeat question but could not find a suitable answer so asking again.
1. I have a client data file which can have both Inserts and Updates and needs to applied to the database (SqlServer). The most relevant field in the data record is an external_client_id. 
2. I have added a file read, a map and a database output task with operation as Update and Insert.
3. I am needed to do a lookup on this external_client_id  and determine if the record exist or not. If it does exist then assign the primary key of the existing database record to the record in the talend map  so that the database operation will become an update otherwise create a new primary key from a sequence and assign that so we insert
What i have not been able to figure out is how to do this lookup? and is there any caching available for these lookups to prevent frequent database reads?
Thanks in advance
Regards
Sid
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Four Stars

Re: [resolved] How to lookup if a database record exists or not(to get a primary key)

Hi Sid,
Based on your description, get two flows from the tMap with inner join at the input lookup
- one for update having existing records
- Second for insert with new key (lookup reject)
connect two output component, one with update and another with insert..
There is an issue with this logic
- Suppose first record which was not in the lookup is sent to insert by generating new key
- if the same record comes again, then also it would be sent to insert because lookup is loaded once in default setting
A way to solve this issue is select an option inner join with reload at each row.. 
Try this way
Vaibhav
8 REPLIES
Four Stars

Re: [resolved] How to lookup if a database record exists or not(to get a primary key)

Hi Sid,
Based on your description, get two flows from the tMap with inner join at the input lookup