[resolved] Counters based on data in tMap

One Star

[resolved] Counters based on data in tMap

Warning: I am fairly new to Talend and have mostly used tMap to import data. I'm running TOS 3.0.3 on Windows in java with FileDelimited and MSSQL input and MSSQL output. I need some help in handling an aspect of the import:
I have a .csv file with records that have different user IDs. I have a MSSQL data table of requests where I look up the user ID to get other data about the request. I'm using a tMap to transform the data and store it in multiple tables, which is working well. I also have to update the request in the MSSQL Lookup table with the number of records read for that user ID. That's where my problem is.
I can see where I could use a variable to count (numeric.sequence?) but that would be an overall count and not specific to a user id. When I try to update the data table as I go along (store updated count per user ID in that request record) hoping to get the new value to increment for each record (expression is "RCRMapping.NumReceived == null ? 1 : RCRMapping.NumReceived + 1" without the quotes of course), it doesn't seem to be doing the writes between csv records to update RCRMapping.NumReceived and I end up always with a value of 1.
Is there a way to force the writes for each read? Is there a better way to keep counts per user id?
I'm attaching a screen shot of a simplified version of my job design and my tMap (there's more to it I deleted just to play with this feature). Please let me know if this isn't clear.
Thanks for the help.
-Deb

Accepted Solutions
One Star

Re: [resolved] Counters based on data in tMap

Thanks so much for your help! This is really close. I didn't know about using globalMap.
I tried several contortions of the variable expression, and I keep getting "null, 1, 2" instead of "1, 2, 3" as the values of the variable for the 3 input records. Tried these two expressions most recently, both with the same results: