One Star ply
One Star

[resolved] Converting String to Date

I have a field that looks like a date but comes in as a string (following a MM/dd/yyyy pattern). Some of them are missing or show as 00/00/0000. I've tried working through this using variations and combinations of parseDate, isDate, and formatDate but can't seem to find the right combination. Schema on the original data is a string, but the results is set as a date. I want to convert the date from a string to a date in a yyyy-MM-dd format when there is a valid date, but it want it to be a null value if it is an invalid date (including 00/00/0000). I think this should be fairly simple, but I'm new to Talend and Java so I can't seem to figure it out. Any help would be very much appreciated.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
One Star ply
One Star

Re: [resolved] Converting String to Date

I had to clean up my settings, but then it worked like a charm! Thank you!!!
I had set up the input data as metadata for the schema, but when I went to make the changes to string/date type as you suggested, I edited them in the Schema editor in the tMap component and I think that screwed things up. I made the correction to the metadata and re-ran your code. I still had problems until I changed my output for the dates to the date type and then it was perfect.
7 REPLIES
Seventeen Stars

At first a real Date does not have a pattern, only the string presentation has a format (also known as pattern).
I would read the fields at first as String typed column. After that I would use a tMap and in the Variable section (in the middle) I would use this expression:
TalendDate.isDate(row1.datestring,"MM/dd/yyyy") ? TalendDate.parseDate("MM/dd/yyyy", row1.datestring) : null

The output (from the tMap) must be of type Date.
One Star ply
One Star