Five Stars

or expression in combination with "?" operator

Hello everybody,

I'm new to Talend and I have a question. Maybe simple...but I don't get it.

This is my expression:

(null != row1.Premium_Group1?

(row1.Premium_Group.contains("Group (group administration/ external audit)")?
"x":" ") :

" ")

First he checks for a null value, if not, he checks for the expression "Group (group ad...", if the expression exists "x" if not " ". Works so far.

But for the next Ouput field I have to check  two input field. So the expression should look like:

(row1.Premium_Group1.contains("Group (group administration/ external audit)")?

" ")

or ( || )

(null != row1.Premium_Group2?

(row1.Premium_Group2.contains("Group (/group administration/ external audit)")?

" ")

What kind of expression I have to use instead of "||" . I hope someone can help me Smiley Happy

PS: later one I have to check for 5 input fields. So the solution should be scalable.

Cheers,

Christian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Five Stars

Re: or expression in combination with "?" operator

I've got a solution. More luck than skill and dirty ... but it works for all fields.

" ")

+

" ")

+

5 REPLIES
Eleven Stars

How are you wanting to use your OR here? You are not outputting a boolean, you are outputting a String. So if you want to use the OR you need to provide the logic behind it.

By the way, you can use OR as || in these conditions

Rilhia Solutions
Five Stars

"the or("||") comment isn't a part of my expression. I just wanted to describe my concern. My data source is a questionnaire. I get the data via web API (Json). I have a checkbox question with 6 answers. The Ouput is Json looks like that:

"At group level, how was the premium allocated? Please check ": [                      //Question
"Group ... (IMS/group administration/ external audit)",                                        //Answer1