One Star

inner join on two tables with case insensitive

hi
I am very new to talend. I want to have inner join between two tables with case insensitive condition. can I force the join between two tables on a column
such that match returns true even if the data in two tables are in different case.
Any help on this is very much appriciated.
17 REPLIES
Community Manager

Re: inner join on two tables with case insensitive

Hello guy
Before you join the two column, you need convert the lookup column to lowercase or uppercase, see my screenshots.
Best regards

shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
One Star

Hi Shong
This will work only when all the data for column (lowername) in out2 table are in
in lowercase. My problem is that some data arein lower case and some are in upper case and
some even in mixed case.
I want to match for equalsIgnoreCase condition between the tables out2 and row1.
One Star

Looks like you would have to do a transform to your field before the tMap to make it a fixed case and then do the tMap. Is this correct?
Community Manager

Hello vk_sang
My job works for all case, contains lowercase, upper case and mixed case. I convert all case to lower case and compare them.
Best regards

shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
One Star

Hi Shong;