One Star

XML mapping with REST client

The requirement I need is to be able to monitor a folder directory for a formatted .cvs file and when that gets triggered, I take that read the file and map the data into a UTF-8 XML file to pass to a REST client web service call (not my REST service). The problem is, the REST service requires that the passed XML file has a new line after each tag (I think people call that pretty XML) and the XML mapping does not provide that feature so I was wondering what my next approach should be or if it's just me doing something wrong. (Also note that I'm new to Talend).
Everything is mapping fine data-wise but the required format is not what I need and I'm pretty sure my tRESTClient is configured correctly as the web service is getting called.
I've attached a screen of the process (hopefully you can see it). My tRESTClient is a POST and the content type and accepted type are both XML. I also unticked the "convert response to DOM document" in the advanced setting but that shouldn't affect the input structure.
11 REPLIES
One Star

Re: XML mapping with REST client

I've posted this question a while ago now but there hasn't been any replies to either help or request for more information.
Does that mean there's no chance of this working, or am I just not getting something right and no one is bothering with this question?
Can someone please respond with any hints or ideas that I can use because I'm all out of ideas and nothing is working?
Community Manager

Hi 

The problem is, the REST service requires that the passed XML file has a new line after each tag (I think people call that pretty XML)

What are your expected format? Can you show us an example?
Best regards
Shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
One Star

The actual required XML file will be too long and not necessary but an example of the XML format I need would be as below:
<task>
<job>JOB_NAME</job>
</tasks>