One Star

Write records into multiple files based on a field in the data - large

Hi,
( I've asked this same question on an old related topic e.g. but have duplicate here to raise the visibility)
I am new to Talend and have a use case to split very large incoming files into individual files based on a key field in the data itself. 
I have seen a few solutions on here and other forums based around using tUniqueRow to identify the keys contained in the data, then tFlowToIterate to iterate through each key 
However I suspect that approach will not be performant for my case :-
* Input volumes are very large > 1 billion rows daily
* Set of key values found in each source file is variable
* Set of possible key values is known but quite large - around 200 currently - and growing as new values added to the source system. 
* Data distribution is very skew - a small number of key values (2-3) make up the bulk (up to 50%) of the data, while some key values may number only in the hundreds 
Obviously I don't want to iterate through a billion row dataset x 200 times.
Is there any way for Talend to manage writing to a variable number of multiple output files concurrently, writing each row to the appropriate output file?
( For anyone who's come from an Ab Initio background, basically I'm looking for behaviour akin to Ab Initio's Write Multiple Files component. )
Many thanks,
Andy
7 REPLIES
Fifteen Stars

Re: Write records into multiple files based on a field in the data - large

The short answer is "not if you don't want to use some Java". The longer answer is "anything is possible in Talend if you can write Java".
Unfortunately to do what you want to do will require you to pre-emptively set up an output file component for each of the key values you are looking for....if you want to use standard Talend components.