Four Stars

Why Talend?

Hi, 

I am a developer that wants to create a webservice in order to feed a DataBase that will be the backend of an important software. 

I could program this backend with .NET, JAVA or another language. However, we are thinking about using TALEND ESB. The question is simple, why Talend? I have my reasons for using this software but as it's gonna be an important project I want to have more feedback from other developers or Talend staff.

Thanks!

3 REPLIES
Five Stars

Re: Why Talend?

If are looking for a tool which is a cost effctive, Talend is the tool for your needs. IT is available in open source and paid version too.

Six Stars

I've been developing commercial software for over 30 years (I did start young!) and these days work as a freelance data and systems integration consultant, mostly with financial, ERP and CRM systems, and lately pretty much exclusively using Talend.

What you realise as you gain experience, with things that go badly long term as well as those that go well, is that maintainability and documentation are often key to the overall success of a project, and this is where Talend can save you a lot of time.

I need to be able to create solutions which can be discussed with various colleagues working on a project, and often the end client. They will probably have very different roles, requirements and degrees of technical knowledge, and most aren't developers, e.g. BA and BI staff, COO, CFO. Having a well structured, well laid out diagram of the integration solution provides a nice middle ground for discussion, and it does look very cool projected on the big screen in a boardroom!