Webservice that returns db table in Json - How?

One Star

Webservice that returns db table in Json - How?

I'm new to Talend ESB and there are no good tutorials or examples I have found to build a route or a job that represents a REST endpoint that reads a database query and returns the results as a json payload while being able to branch based on input parameters.
Here is what I am trying to do
url:  host/getData?action=view1  - return json payload from view 1
      host/getData?action=view2  - return json payload from view 2
tRestRequest --> tFlowToIterate --> tOracleInput --> tXMLMap  --> tRestResponse 
While this seems to work, for both XML / JSON - I don't see how to split the job into multiple routes to pull from different views if I have different parameters.
So, I tried to do this with a route that calls a job
chttp --> cMessageRouter -->  job1 --> routeInput --> tFlowToIterate --> tOracleInput --> tWriteJsonFields --> tRouteOutput
                                    |--> job2 --> routeInput --> tFlowToIterate --> tOracleInput --> tWriteJsonFields --> tRouteOutput
The message router in this case makes it easy to branch routes on the input parameters, but now the job returns only the last row of the database instead of all the rows?
My simple question is what components should I use to do this?  It should be straight forward I believe, but it is not documented well anywhere that is easy to find.  Maybe this post will help me and others who might be looking for these answers.
Employee

Re: Webservice that returns db table in Json - How?

Hi Bret,
There are a variety of ways to accomplish this.  Since your different views are essentially different flows, I would build them each as different REST API mappings if you're able to change your URI to use the path rather than query parameters for the views.
host/views/view1
host/views/view2