Using Context-Variables in DB-Connections?

One Star

Using Context-Variables in DB-Connections?

Hi everyone,
I am a Talend newbie who is just trying to build a little job connecting to an Oracle DB to pull out some data. Basic stuff :-)
So here's what I have done since this morning:
1. Created a project
2. Created a context group in the metadata
3. Created a context for each system environment that job will later run (Test, Production etc.)
4. Created a set of suitable context variables (especially for the DB connection)
What I have been stuck with for the past few hours and could not resolve by reading manuals is this:
I created a DB-Connection in the Metadata-section of Talend, chose "Oracle with SID" as type and tried to use the already existing context variables.
But Talend wouldn't let me.
When I entered the connection data of my test environment directly into the text fields, I was successfully able to test the connection.
But when I then replaced the text field content with variables like
context.username
context.password
nothing worked anymore. It was not even possible to enter
context.port
into the "port" field
All I found was the option to "export as context". But when I did that, it would create a whole new context group, create new variable names and everything - and would disregard all the settings in "my" context group that was already created.
I find that very confusing.
My 2 questions to you are:
1. Have I generally set my project up properly? (Using global context groups, db-connections in the metadata etc.)
2. Is it even possible to use pre-existing context variables in a db connection? (If so: how?)
Thanks
Matt
Seventeen Stars

Re: Using Context-Variables in DB-Connections?

hi kleinmat,
what do you mean by "Talend don't let you".
You"re not able to write in filed or it give you any errors when trying to run the job ?
regards
laurent
One Star