Five Stars

Transpose Column names

Hi,

I am new to Talend. Could any one please help for the below use case. How to perform this use case. I

Input:

id : 01

name:aaaa

id:02

name:bbbb

id:03

name:cccc

Output:

ID;NAME;AGE

01;AAAA:29

02;BBBB:25

03;CCCC:30

7 REPLIES
Twelve Stars

Re: Transpose Column names

I assume the data you have shown is the format you would expect it to arrive in? If it is, then the main body of what is needed is covered in this tutorial (https://www.rilhia.com/tutorials/dynamic-column-order).

Essentially, with every row you are getting two values; the column header and value. Read these values in from your file as column header and value. Then use tMap variables (as I have done in the tutorial) to retrieve the correct value for each output column. Since the tMap variables hold their values between rows, your first row will just have your ID, the second value will have the ID and the name, the third row will have the ID, name and age. Since we know this, you can use a tAggregateRow after the tMap to group this data by ID. We know that only the last row per ID will hold all of the data. Therefore your tAggregateRow will group by ID and return the LAST value for the name and age. If configured correctly, you will end up with single rows for each of your records.

Rilhia Solutions
Five Stars

HI rhall_2_0.

Thanks for your reply. This is not dynamic column issue. Column names are coming as rows with values with (: ) separator.

Like wise I have millions of records.

Here ID, Name and age are column names which are in row wise with their values separated by : and want to transpose the column names as headers and below the relevant values of particular column.

first record:

ID: 100

Name: AAA

Second Record

ID: 101

Name:BBB

Third Record

ID: 102

Name:CCC

Output:

ID; Name; Age

100;AAA;30

101;BBB;32

102;CCC;26

Regards,

Twelve Stars