One Star BCG
One Star

Talend Rest API

Hello, I am trying to use Talend to call an internal REST api. This internal Rest API consumes and JSON input and returns JSON output. I am trying to see if there is a sample how to setup Talend to call our internal API. I don't want to sit define the output columns etc. Talend should just return the payload what ever it get from the Internal API call. On the Request I can define the JSON input in Talend and hope it gets passed.
Has any one done this kind of a thing. If you can point me to a link or give a step by step process to do this will be appreciated. FYI I am new to Talend.
4 REPLIES
One Star

Re: Talend Rest API

Hello
please follow any reasonable tutorial (https://www.talendforge.org/tutorials/tutorial.php?idTuto=104) just instead of parsing and mapping individual fields, you pass the "payload" field (typed as "Document")

tRESTRequest -> tRESTClient -> tRESTResponse
                              |_ on failure -> tRestResponse

g.
One Star BCG
One Star

Gabriel, thanks for the reply.  I tried your option and it worked. Thanks. I guess there is a bug or something in Talend, I was getting errors, and some one had posted as I search in google that in the tRESTClient the accept type should be set to any. When I change that JSON it did not work. I will try again later with that option, but for now I am good.
Thanks for your help
One Star BCG
One Star

Help in implementing REST API. I am using the free ESB download. I have built a successful REST API, thanks to Gabriel's direction got this to work. Now how do I implement this? I read some articles but not very clear. When I do the build job, I have to build it as OSGI bundle. I am supposed to take this OSGI bundle and deploy using the Runtime ESB. My questions are:
1) When I installed ESB, I have a folder called Runtime_ESBSE. How do I start something from this folder to run? . There is a container folder and a bin folder below that? Which exe do I start?