TOS Data Integration version control

One Star

TOS Data Integration version control

Hi,
I hope someone can help me regarding source/version control for Talend Open Studio (Integration and/or Big Data).  I am aware that the enterprise version of Talend has an integration with SVN, but this is not an option for me since I am working for a start up company with no money to spend. 
My requirement: I need to put my jobs under version control, preferably using Mercurial (hg). 
Background: My company is a "java-shop" and the other developers are using java, spring, maven, jenkins, nexus ++. The "java way" of doing things. My background is in data warehousing, and I have worked a lot with ETL tools such as SAP BODS, Informatica and SSIS. I have used TOS "on the side" for test-projects. I am the only one with this skill-set, and I need to convince my coworkers that using an ETL tool is a good choice for data integration and processing tasks. Smiley Happy For now I am building "Standalone Jobs" from Talend and scheduling these using Jenkins as a scheduling tool. 
I have spent a lot of time in the forum searching for information on this, and my "Google skills" are also quite good. I find a few topics that mentions git, and I have read some blogs, but most of them involves putting the whole Talend project folder, or some subset of it () under version control. 
To the point:

Would it be enough to only "export items" and put these under source control? Avoiding all the generated java-code. It will require a good workflow of course and depends on the developer to export the correct items every time. But for the goal of versioning code only?
Any other success stories with TOS and version control? How have you done it?

Thanks,
Thomas

Re: TOS Data Integration version control

Hi Thomas,
So far, talend provides community user with a free trial of Talend Enterprise for Data Integration.