One Star

Switching Context at Command Line

Hi,
I have a master job that kicks off 3 child jobs. There are 4 contexts defined in each job, i.e. "local", "qa", "test" and "prod". When I export the master job from TOS 4.2 I choose "qa" as the context and mark "Apply to children" checkbox. This exports the master and the child jobs with "--context=qa" key pair applied. Everything works OK at this point.
Now, I want to move exactly the same exported job to "test" environment. I change the master job call inside .sh script to use "test" context now like this:
#> java -Xms256M -Xmx1024M -cp classpath.jar: nplate_crm.master_amg_0_1.master_amg --context=test $*
However, all child jobs are still being called with --context=qa. Any idea why updating the context option at command line of master job call doesn't get propagated to the child jobs? Ideally, I want to be able to export job once and then deploy it to multiple environments just by changing "--context=..." option. Is this possible?
Thanks.
6 REPLIES
One Star

Re: Switching Context at Command Line

Guys, please help. I have this due Monday. All I want to be able is to call the master job from a shell script with specific --context="" value and have all child jobs switch to that context automatically. Each job already has matching contexts defined for each environment. I need to be able to switch contexts because each environment has different context variable values. Thanks!
One Star

I like to use separate config files per environment as described in this post http://bekwam.blogspot.com/2011/10/applying-contexts-to-talend-open-studio.html . To specify the different environments, you'll use context_param.