Five Stars HWY
Five Stars

Stuck on how to proces the result of a 'fuzzy' lookup

Hi All,

I am pretty new to the Talend product suite but have some knowledge and experience with other di-tools.

In my first tryout I want to develop a simple service which polls a specific folder and for each file which is dropped into that folder executes a 'fuzzy' lookup of the filename against an oracle table with tags. The 'fuzzy' lookup can have 3 reults:

1. The filename matches none of tags from the oracle table (NO_DATA_FOUND)
  2. The filename matches exactly 1 of the tags (OK)
  3. The filename matchs more than 1 of the tags (TOO_MANY_ROWS)

I want to store the outcome of the 'fuzzy' match in my database using an oracle insert.

To build this job, I have used a tWaitforFile and a tOracleInput step and combined them in a tMap step. In the tMap step I have calculated the fuzzy match by adding a extra column tot the outputstreem which is calculated as "StringHandling.INDEX(row1.FILENAME,row2.B006_TAG)" . This works fine and each line of the tOracleInput is padded with the extra column LookupResult indicating if that tag exits in the filename or not.

But based on the new column "LookupResult" I want to determine the overall result (NO_DATA_FOUND, OK or TOO_MANY_ROWS) but after numerous attempts with tAggregateRow and tFilterRow I have run out of options....

Can somebody give me a hint how to proceed in this? See attached my Job and the tMap step.

Thnx & regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Twelve Stars

Re: Stuck on how to proces the result of a 'fuzzy' lookup

Ok, I think I misunderstood your requirement originally.