Five Stars

Select a specifc XML node (from a repeating node) with TXMLMap

I'm currently building a DataWarehouse and I have to fetch all sales data from POS into DB. I am able to extract and load the data to MSSQL DB, but for one of the xml node I actually would like to get the second node instead. The XML schema with the desire output as below:

XML schema.PNG

The job is very simple like below.

Job.PNG

If you notice here the <CloseTime> having 2 child nodes one for previous day business day and EOD, another for the current day bizday and eod.

I need to fetch the second node to combine with the sales header information. 

XMLData.PNG

Currently only the first node is fetch and successfully combine with the sales header information, but it should be the second node to be combine with the sales header. How do I achieve this in TXMLMap? Or do I need to use another component just to do that?

This is my first time using Talend so if you could recommend a solution with steps it would be best!

Thanks.

• Data Integration
18 REPLIES
Eleven Stars

Re: Select a specifc XML node (from a repeating node) with TXMLMap

You will need to use a different component for this. When reading from XML I rarely use a tXMLMap since it is very restrictive. The best component (in my opinion) for working with reading XML is the tExtractXMLField component, used with XPath queries. XPath can be a pain to learn, but you can test things out online very easily (http://www.xpathtester.com/xpath).

For your problem here you will be wanting to return the nth instance of a loop. This problem I believe is answered here (I haven't tested it but it looks right)....

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/4007413/xpath-query-to-get-nth-instance-of-an-element 

Rilhia Solutions
Five Stars

Hi, is that not possible using tXMLMap?

I need to extract the XML and split into different table in database eventually.

Job.PNG