One Star

SELECT FEW COLUMNS FROM A CSV OR EXCEL FILE

Hi everybody,
well,I'm a beginner in TOS for data integration and I need to create a job that will take a csv or Excel file as a source of data but will select just somme columns and remove the others.How can I do that.Thank you so much in advance Smiley Happy
11 REPLIES
Seventeen Stars

Re: SELECT FEW COLUMNS FROM A CSV OR EXCEL FILE

You can use the build-in components for csv or excel files and use a tMap to extract the columns you need
tFileInputDelimited --> tMap --> any output component
or you can use components from Talend Exchange:
for CSV: tFileInputTextFlat : this component lets you deside which column you want to read and you can use a header line to get the correct position
for Excel: tFileExcelSheetInput: this component also let you decide which column you need and you have also the possiibility to get the correct column position by a header line (this component needs the component tFileExcelWorkbookOpen)

Hi,
Or tFilterColumns to filter these columns.
Best regards
Sabrina
--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
Employee

1 for the tFilterColumns Smiley Happy
When you are using a tFilterColumns, the job design is really clear. All the users will understand this component is for filter the columns. When you are using a tMap, it's not obvious to know what kind of transformation you are doing.
tMap is a very powerfull tool, with a great graphical user interface... and use it for filter the columns is not a bad idea: it's running perfectly!
However the other components can give your job design more understandable.

More information about the tMap on Talend Help Center:tMap
Best Regards,
Olivier
One Star

Hi everybody again!
Thanks a lot for your help,I have succeded to implement a first easy job Smiley Happy