Four Stars

Run a job looping through all defined contexts?

I have a job where I am grabbing a most recent file in Box, unarchiving it and then appending data from the file (.csv) to a Google Sheet.

For ease of set up all the reports for different clients are going in one directory. I have defined using contexts filenames to use as a mask as well as google sheet file IDs and Sheet Names.

So when I want to update a particular report I select its context and run the job which works fine and as intended.

What I want to do is to automate running my job with all the contexts I've defined - I'm quite new with Talend so struggling to find how to do this?

• Data Integration
6 REPLIES
Employee

Re: Run a job looping through all defined contexts?

A Context Group is a functional element in Talend to group a set of context variable values.   The actual context group name is not passed down into the job, but instead the context variable values are.  

Hence, instead of passing the values to the job, you need to think of loading the values dynamically at runtime.  You can use a tFileInputDelimited to read a file with 2 columns, i.e. Key, Value, and then push that row into a tContextLoad component.  This will override the values of the context variables in the current job.  You will have as many properties as context groups.

At runtime, you will loop and dynamically load context variables from 1 properties file, do your processing, and then load the next set of context variable values and do your processing.

The 2 components you need to look at are tLoop and tContextLoad.

Four Stars

Thanks for the swift reply.

I did try tContextLoad with tFileInputDelimited but couldn't think how to iterate through the rows and do my processing one at a time.