Retrieve a Salesforce Id on insert for subsequent inserts

Six Stars

Retrieve a Salesforce Id on insert for subsequent inserts

Hi,

I am importing data from a 3rd party csv file to a Microsoft SQL Server database table that will ultimately be inserted into 3 separate Salesforce tables.

In my Talend job, I am selecting the data for the first table insert via a tMSSqlInput component, running it through a tMap component and inserting it into Salesforce using a tSalesforceOutput component.

I will need the Ids generated from that first table insert for the inserts into the other two Salesforce tables.

Is there any straightforward way of retrieving the Ids (and possibly updating the local database table with them) so I can use them in the subsequent Salesforce inserts?

I am a complete novice at Talend, so as much detail as possible would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Accepted Solutions
Forteen Stars TRF
Forteen Stars

Re: Retrieve a Salesforce Id on insert for subsequent inserts

@paburton96, regarding your 1rst question, thank's to mark this case as solved

TRF

All Replies
Thirteen Stars

@paburton96,from the salesfroce you want to retrieve the Id's means you need read again that object based on some created date or modified data,while inserting data into sales-force you can retrieve from the Out of sales-force object in Talend.

Manohar B
Employee

Hi,

Since you would like to generate the sequence id while during data extraction and then load it back to your local database, the easiest way will be to create a sequence in your local DB. During your query, fetch the next value from this sequence inside DB as an additional parameter.