Seven Stars

RestFul Service using Open Studio for Data Integration

Hi,

I am new to Talend. We are planning to integrate our Data Base with Sales Force. For this integration we are thinking of using Talend.

As per my understanding so far we can prepare RESTFUL services as well as Web Services using Talend. Please confirm.

Also if above assumption is correct then can we pass arguments to that RESTFUL service and also fetch response from that RESTFUL service. Please confirm.

Here is my requirement :-

1. A contact gets registered in our data base. A contact could have various fields such as FirstName, LastName, Email, Phone number etc.
  2. On the back ground a window service runs after every 5 minutes. This window service picks the newly registered contact from data base using store procedure in SQL Server.
  3. What we are assuming here is that we could consume this RESTFUL service in our window service. Please confirm if this is possible. We are planning to pass this newly picked contact in to that RESTFUL service will add this newly picked contact in to sales force.
  4. If above assumption (mentioned in point c) is correct then is it possible to fetch response from Salesforce using this RESTFUL service and pass that response to the window service which is calling that RESTFUL service. This response should be the new ID of this contact which got created in to Salesforce. We could call this ID as SalesForceID of that contact.

Can you please share some urls/videos on you tube e.t.c. which could be helpful to me in my scenario.

Regards

Tarunjit Singh

5 REPLIES
Thirteen Stars TRF
Thirteen Stars

Re: RestFul Service using Open Studio for Data Integration

Hi,

For short, you cannot build a web service using Talend DI. You need to use Talend ESB this purpose.

However, on point 2 you are speaking about a scheduled task running each 5 minutes.

This can be a Talend DI job scheduled using a standard tool such as cron or Windows tasks manager.