One Star

Rename output file

Simple ask, looking for an example on renaming output files at the end of iteration (I'm looping through multiple files and need multiple output files with a similar name. i.e. 123.xls to 123_out.xls)
Haven't seen a decent example digging through the forums...
Seems like a simple need that could be accomplished without script.
9 REPLIES
One Star

Re: Rename output file

have a look at tFileCopy and set rename and delete source checkbox
One Star

Unless I'm missing something (and maybe I am, I'm new to the tool) there is no set rename.
Just values to set the file to be copied and the destination folder for it to be copied to. It would sense to have a field to set the destination name as well.
For additional context here's what I want to do
------------------------------
| in file | outfile |
| 123.xls |123_out.xls |
| abc.xls |abc_out.xls |
I guess the alternative would be to write the file with the right name when the flow is initiated, but I'm not seeing a logical way to send a variable file name to tFileOutputExcel for example.
Community Manager

Hi
Does the tFileCopy fit your need? "out" is a fixed value or it should be a dynamical value?
Best regards
Shong
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
One Star

No. It does tFileCopy does not. It needs to be a dynamic value. I'm processing multiple files and need multiple outputs with similar but different names.
One Star

here is a screenshot of a tFileCopy-Componentview which I use to rename a file. The labels are in German, but you may find it helpful anyway. Notice, that some fields become visible only if you set the checkboxes which activate them ("umbenennen" => "Zieldateiname").
One Star

if you know Java you can try file.rename method to rename the files.
One Star