Reading a Variable Length Record in Talend

One Star

Reading a Variable Length Record in Talend

I am new to Talend and trying to understand the best component to read a variable length file. Lets say I have an input dataset that looks like this, with no end of line delimiter...
1234ABCD10XYDDDRRERE5678EFGH08ABABABAB9101IJKL12YYYYYYYYYYYY
There are 3 records in the above file which i want to break into the following...
Record is described as follows...
1st 4 bytes are FIELD1
Next 4 bytes are FIELD2
Next 2 bytes are LENGTH
Remaining length depends on the length of the LENGTH field above.
1234 ABCD 10 XYDDDRRERE
5678 EFGH 08 ABABABAB
9101 IJKL 12 YYYYYYYYYYYY
What is the best component to use to take a file with no delimiter or NEWLINE idicator and process variable length records.
One Star

Re: Reading a Variable Length Record in Talend

My first thought is to write a simple perl script and preprocess the file. Convert the stream into a CSV file. Then use tFileInputDelimited to read the clean file.
One Star

Thanks for your response, I know that I can build a process to pre-process the data, I wanted to see if this option to read variable length records with no end of line delimiter is posssible, if not i can do the solution that way. Just looking for an answer if it is possible through Talend.
One Star

Ok, there is a process that should do what you want, but it requires using some seldom used components in an unusual way. Essentially, we can do the pre-processing as the first few steps of a single Talend job. I have not fully implemented this exact set of components in exactly this way for exactly this purpose. I have used each of the components for similar things in separate jobs. Buckle up for an interesting ride.