Read files from FTP and get date created/modified

Four Stars

Read files from FTP and get date created/modified

Hello,

I am new to Talend, but I have been trying to find a solution to this problem. Currently, I can list all of the files on my FTP server. I would like to be able to list all files on the server that were created on today's date. I have tried looping over all of the files on the server, and then passing the filename (I have tried current_filepath & current_file) to the tFTPFileProperties which would then output the properties. At this current state, the output is just null for every field.

Is there a step that I am missing somewhere?

Also, which component from the palette would I need to use in order to only output the files that were created on today's date?

Thanks!

Capture.PNG

Capture1.PNG

Four Stars

Re: Read files from FTP and get date created/modified

Hello, Is this possible to do in Talend, or am I going about it the wrong way? Also...where does everyone find tutorials/documentation on Talend? On Talend's website?

Highlighted
Five Stars

Re: Read files from FTP and get date created/modified

Hello,

Without correct file naming like myfile_25_09_2019, I think you won't be able to retrieve the "creation date" of the file because this data is not retrieved by tFTPFileProperties component. BUT you really can have Job Design which allows you to process files based on their modification date.

If you're interrested in, read the following. If you absolutely need to process files based on creation date, try your own logic with tJava / Routines etc.. and your favorite FTP library.

Even if the topic is old, someday the following could help someone else. This is my solution to your problem :

The Job design :
job.PNGJOB

1. Get the files list with tFTPFileList component.

Then, in the iterate loop :
1. Get File properties with tFTPFileProperties component.

1_get_file_properties.PNGGet Files Properties