Four Stars

Question - rationalizing our database, tmap or something else?

Hi guys

This is perhaps a very basic question, so basic I'm unable to find a similar one on here: I'm on a project to redesign the database of our legacy system, which is pretty old and has grown organically over time, not always necessarily to best practice. For example, over time as the business have required new data to be stored we've often simply tagged new attributes onto existing tables, leaving them large and not particularly coherent. I'm an analyst rather than a developer, and am trying to prove that these types of actions can be performed in Talend, but I've not been able to get it quite right.

Lets say I'm trying to split a legacy 'person' table which contains up to 3 name fields, into a 1:* table structure of 'Person_New' and 'Person_Credentials' to allow the flexibility of >3 names if we need it in the future. E.g.

Legacy Person table:

User_ID     ¦      Forename    ¦    Surname    ¦    Middlename

123             ¦      John             ¦     Smith         ¦     Thomas

Would become:

Person_New table:

User_ID

'Person_Credentials' table:

User_ID    ¦    Name_Type    ¦     Name

123            ¦   Forename       ¦      John

123            ¦    Surname        ¦     Smith

123            ¦    Middlename   ¦     Thomas