One Star

Providing Excel sheets and a connection string as inputs while Packagi

I have designed a job to copy Excel data to SQL tables (18 of them). Now I want to package it. Since I am new to this I don't know how to proceed.
I want to package it in a way that user can provide Excel input sheets and a connection string. And my executable file will copy data from this 'n' number of input sheets to the hard-coded tables. Now user might want to copy data from any number of tables.
My workflow is
Stored Procedure -> excel input -> tMap -> tMSSql
|
on sub job ok
|
excel input -> tMap -> tMSSql
|
on sub job ok
|
|
excel input -> tMap -> tMSSql
I want to know where and how to define these as input parameters? Or whatever the other way it works in Talend.
4 REPLIES
One Star

Re: Providing Excel sheets and a connection string as inputs while Packagi

How do I use context variables for DB connection and Excel inputs (location + file name) ?
Is there something wrong with my question or Talend is just not popular enough to solve doubts?
One Star

I have taken a context variable named WorkbookPath. And provided it's default value as 'C:/Users/Administrator/Desktop/Workbook1.xlsx' (with out the comma).
So now all of my Excel inputs will have 'context.WorkbookPath' (with out the commas) written in it's 'File name/Stream' field?
And how do I provide my input the value to look for particular work sheet in that workbook?

Hi,
Your Excel sheets(18 of them) are same column structure/schema structure?
Best regards
Sabrina
--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
One Star

Hello,
No, my sheets are of different structures.
I have 1 excel workbook, which has 18 worksheets. I have been able to copy data from these 18 sheets to 18 tables with different schema. (Everything hard coded)