Five Stars

Possible SCD bugs found in tMSSQLSCD and tMYSQLSCD

Good day guys

I might have uncovered potential bugs in the tMSSQLSCD and tMYSQLSCD components. I am rather new to this so your input and double checking will be appreciated. I will explain my jobs below:

(MSSQLSCD is very bad, MYSQLSCD is much better, but there is one bug).

Job 1: Testing a POC using tMSSQLSCD (Microsoft SQL Server)

I pull client related data from various sources into a single client table. 

The table has the following columns:

SQLServerTable.PNG

The column in red is the client number, and the columns in yellow is what I use for the SCD Type 2. Here is my SCD setup for my SCD job that handles changes in client phone numbers (for the POC we only care about phone numbers):

mssqlscd.PNG

As you can see, I only really care about the phone numbers for my POC, and I also specify the start and end data, as well as the "is_active" column that Talend should set to 0 or 1. 

But here is the problem:

SQLServerData.PNG

As you can see, even though the phone numbers stay the same, the MSSQLSCD component creates a new surrogate key. Also, it never sets the end_date to the proper date, and it also never sets the is_active to 0.

But, I did find the update code in the Talend job but it never gets executed (I ran SQL Server Profiler, but there are always only insert jobs, never update jobs):MSSQLCode.PNG

Job 2: Testing a POC using tMYSQLSCD (MYSQL)

The MySQL version of the jobs look exactly the same, only the SCD component was changed to the tMYSQLSCD connector.

It works A LOT better than the SQL Server job, see below:

MySQLData.PNG

As you can see, only when the phone numbers change, will it create a new record (which is 100% correct and the way it should work. Even if I run the job 5 times with the same phone numbers, it will only insert a record once, not like SQL Server where it inserts a record every time even when the data did not change).