One Star

Passing data flow to tRunjob

Hi,
I'm new to Talend and I have a couple of questions regarding tRunjob.
I'd like to know if it's possible to pass a data flow to a tRunjob to compute, and if it is, what's the component used as an input in the child job.
Regards,
ml
15 REPLIES
One Star

Re: Passing data flow to tRunjob

Passing data to a client job is usually done with a context.
If you look at the component properties you can see that you can set context variables of your sub job. Before you do so you need to declare a context in your sub job.
You can for example dump your data into a file, communicate the file name to the sub job as context variable, open the file in your sub-job and process the data, store the output in a tBufferOutput, return the buffer to the parent job and continue the processing in your parent job with a flow from the job icon (the data comes from your buffer).
I think there is no interactive communication between parent and sub job. Does passing down the data fulfil your requirement?
One Star

Actually, I don't want to generate any temporary file. I've already thought about the context variables, but I want to use some components like tAggregate on the input flow in the subjob. So the link between the father and the child must be a data flow, it's like using a main row that will be between a component in the father job and the tRunjob.
One Star

Here is a little screenshot of what I want to do:

I want to split one huge Job into 2 jobs, with the upper part working as a father job and the lower one as a child Job. The splitting must be at the data flow coming from the filter.
Thanks for your time.
One Star

I can?t see your picture.
The parent job is not running when TOS is executing the sub-job (at least that?s my understanding) therefore I don?t see how you could establish a flow between them.