Parsing multiple input JSON files

One Star

Parsing multiple input JSON files

Hello All,
We have a requirement to read data from multiple json files stored at a particular location and transform all data and finally insert it to a postgre db. 
I am using Talend tFileInputJSON component to read json file, but i can read only 1 JSON file. 
Since i am fairly new to Talend, looking for experts opinion here on how to tackle this situation. 
Any support appriciated.
Thanks,
Manesh
Five Stars

Re: Parsing multiple input JSON files

Welcome to Talend! 
follow the instructions to get your job done. 
Your job design should be like this. 
tFileList--iterate--tFileinputJson---tMap--youroutput.

Add tfileList component, set the directory path where all files stored. 
Add file mask as per your file names default with "*.*". 
Connect tFileList to tFileInputJson with "iterate" flow. 
you will have " file name with path" in tFileList global variables. add this global variable to tFileInputJosn file path text box. 

global variable which store the file name with path. 
((String)globalMap.get("tFileList_1_CURRENT_FILEPATH"))
One Star

Thanks for your help Umesh.. Multiple file parsing Worked perfectly !
One question, can tMap hold data from all the json files before inserting into db or do i need to insert one by one ?
Thanks,
Manesh
Five Stars

use tBufferoutput and input component to hold the result in buffer then insert this result in db. 
One Star

It's often easier to convert the JSON to a CSV flat file first then import that into tables.
There are some free converters like json-csv.com
One Star

Thanks Umesh and Holga for your inputs. I will try to follow it. Basically my JSON has few nested loops and i need to put some custom logic before inserting in database,so converting into csv may not help my purpose. 
Five Stars

if you share input json file, then we can suggest better solution. 
One Star

Thanks Umesh,

Below is my sample json file with very few fields,