One Star

Parse an XML and write datas on database.

Hi,
I'm new to Talend and I need a suggestion because I'm quite sure the way I solved my problem is quite far from being the best one.
First of all sorry for my bad English! Smiley Happy
That's the scenario:
I need to parse an xml file, extract various elements and than perfom several SQL "insert" whose value depends on each retrieved XML's element value.
The way I do it is shown in the first image.
1) I parse the xml file (e.g.100 elements) and then I create 100 new records on a db's table using the tMySQLOutput module (the one called first in the first image).
In this case Talend performs a "bulk" write from XML to db.
2) I examine again the 100 elements parsed from the XML file and than I need to write other values that the 100 elements contain on various db's tables.
Before writing each of the 100 elements I need to perform various tests (test1, test2 and test3 in the first image) to correctly set up the FK in every record I'm going to create.
The only way I found to accomplish point 2 is to use tMySQLRow to write the set of records corresponding to the first XML element, before examining the second XML element and so on.
This solution works but is really hard to debug the job when something goes wrong during the execution.
I'd like to use a tXMLMap and a tMySQLOutput like I do at the point one, it wouyld be much more easy to debug my job.
The problem, as shown in the second image, is that with tXMLMap and tMySQLOutput I can only perform a bulk write and I can't do the tests I need to correctly set up FKs.
In addition to this I can't connect a tMySQLoutput as a "writeORnot-trigger" to a tXMLMap.
Can someone show me the way to fix the job shown in the second image?
Thanks a lot!!!
Smiley Happy
7 REPLIES
Seven Stars

Re: Parse an XML and write datas on database.